“Banana Bread” Breakfast Quinoa

20121220-130337.jpg

Merry Christmas Eve to all of my Thrifty Foodies readers! I hope you are all home safe with your families and settled in to enjoy the holiday. For Christmas this year I adventured into an old family recipe for banana bread thats been passed down through the generations. I made a few tiny loafs for my supervisors at work and then some for my roommates and I to enjoy. As usual, I had a bunch of left over bananas. I’ve been wanting to try another breakfast quinoa recipe after the success of my Pumpkin Quinoa Casserole. Since things are getting colder in NYC, now seemed to be the perfect time. Here’s what I came up with using leftover banana bread ingredients. The eggs cook and make an almost custard like bread pudding texture. This is definitely going to be a recipe I double(or triple) at the beginning of the week in order to make weekday breakfasts.

“Banana Bread” Breakfast Quinoa
1/3 cup Quinoa
2/3 cup water
2 eggs
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp kosher salt
1 tsp brown sugar
1 mashed banana
handful of dried cranberries
handful of chopped walnuts
honey for drizzling
In a microwave safe bowl combine quinoa and water. Cover and cook for 5 minutes. Stir and cook for an additional 2 minutes. Remove from microwave and let it sit covered while you assemble the rest of the ingredients. In a small bowl combine eggs, brown sugar, mashed banana, cinnamon, salt, cranberries, and walnuts. Stir together until the eggs are fully incorporated. Spoon quinoa into the mix trying to avoid adding any remaining water. Separate mixture into ramekins and microwave for 3-4 minutes until center is set. Serve with a drizzle of honey on top.

Enjoy!

~Charlie

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, New York City, Quick & Easy, Small Kitchen Cooking, Winter

Leave a comment