Garlic Whole Wheat Pizza Dough

20120818-134136.jpg

To celebrate my friend Hannah’s homecoming- and to break in my fancy new pizza stone- I wanted to try my hand on a thin crust pizza. I was watching Bobby Deen’s show where he revamps his mothers cooking to be healthy and he was making a thin crust pizza. I was intrigued by the process he made his dough by not activating the yeast before mixing. I decided to give it a try and make a tasty garlic thin crust.

Garlic Whole Wheat Pizza Dough
Bowl #1 Ingredients:
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 1/4 cup white flour
1 packet yeast
2.5 tbs garlic powder
1 tbs kosher salt
1 tbs Italian seasonings

Bowl #2 Ingredients:
1 tbs honey
1 tbs brown sugar
1 1/2 cups HOT water
1 tbs olive oil

Mix together all of your dry ingredients in a large bowl or on low speed in a mixer. Combine all of the ingredients from bowl #2 together, stirring until honey and sugar are dissolved. In small batches work the liquid into the dry mixture. Knead for 5 minutes or let mix on a dough hook for 5 minutes.
Place finished dough ball in a bowl oiled with 1 tbs of olive oil. Cover tightly with plastic wrap touching the dough. Refrigerate overnight.

When you’re ready to make your pizza remove dough about an hour before and bring to room temperature. Use a rolling pin to roll dough into thin crust pizzas. Bake on 400 degrees for 10-15 minutes.

I thought it was interesting how reversing the way I added yeast into the dough created a denser crispy crust. It was super filling and made two small 12 inch pizzas– which we topped with basil from the window box and tomatoes from toms dads garden. Pretty delicious 🙂

Enjoy!
-Charlie

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner, New York City, Party Entertaining Ideas, Summertime

Leave a comment