Chinese ‘Take Out’: Garlic Chicken

Living in manhattan, I end up consuming a lot of take out food. The thing I tend to order to most is Chinese take out. I’m a sucker for a good combo plate of garlic chicken with rice. After testing out a few different recipes I’ve figured out a way to make one of my favorites a little more healthy and less fried than the one I order from Number One China up the street…

‘Take Out’ Garlic Chicken

1/3 cup warm water
1/3 cup honey
1/3 cup low sodium soy sauce
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper
1/4 tsp ground black pepper
1 tbs cornstarch
5 cloves garlic(minced)
2 boneless skinless chicken breasts(diced into pieces)
1 bag frozen broccoli or oriental veggies

In a blender or food processor combine honey, soy sauce, warm water, crushed red pepper, back pepper, cornstarch, and garlic. Blend until everything is combined into a chunky marinade. In order to get the most delicious garlic flavor I recommend marinating your chicken overnight in the sauce.
Dice your chicken into small pieces and cover with half of the sauce. Chill in the refrigerator for a minimum of 2 hours, reserving the remaining marinade for cooking.

Heat a medium/large skillet with 1 tbs of oil, carefully remove chicken from marinade, and sauté for 5 minutes until chicken is mostly cooked. Add in reserved marinade and cook for 2-3 more minutes until it begins to boil and thicken. Cook frozen broccoli/veggies according to package and stir into the pan with the chicken. Serve with rice and enjoy!

Somewhere since cooking this I’ve misplaced the picture I took so I’ll try and get one up soon.
Enjoy!
-Charlie

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner, Lunch, New York City, Quick & Easy

Leave a comment