Spanish Rice

20120416-202307.jpg

The neighborhood I live in has a very large Dominican population. Naturally it always smells amazing in my building as they cook all sorts of yummy ethnic food. I’m always a little jealous of what they might be eating because I’ve got a huge soft spot for anything with a spanish/south american flavor. I made this rice to go with taco night this past week and it was so delicious, cheap, and easy to make. For once I feel like the smells coming from my apartment might have made the Dominicans jealous 🙂

Spanish Rice
2 cups whole grain rice
1 can of diced tomatoes
2 tbs Taco Seasoning
1 tbs Chili Powder

If you have a rice cooker put the rice, amount of water your machine requires, seasoning, and tomatoes with juices all into the machine. Stir and press go.

To cook via stovetop follow rice cooking directions for amount of water. Stir in seasonings and tomatoes(with juices). Simmer until rice is cooked thoroughly.

It would also be lovely to add some fresh chopped cilantro into the rice after its cooked.

Enjoy!
-Charlie

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner, Lunch, Side Dishes, Small Kitchen Cooking

Leave a comment