Thrifty Tip: Homemade Taco Seasoning

I’m in love with those super gourmet spice markets that seem to be popping up next to every new co-op in the city. There’s a really great one in St Augustine, FL where I vacation every summer– after inspecting my spice blends from my last trip I noticed they had printed the ingredient list on the packing. I did some research and figured out how to make my own blend of taco seasonings. In the long run it is cheaper than the processed version you get from the store and so much healthier.

Taco Seasoning
1/4 Cup instant minced onion
2 tbs chili powder
1 tbs minced garlic
1 tbs kosher salt
2 tsp paprika
2 tsp crushed red pepper
2 tsp oregano
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp marjoram
1/4 tsp black pepper

Mix all of the spices together and store in a empty spice shaker.

The next time you see that bin of discounted two for three dollars spices grab a few and mix up some homemade taco seasoning.

Happy Cooking!
-Charlie

Leave a comment

Filed under thrifty tips

Leave a comment