Spaghetti Squash made Simple!

A few years ago, I saw a strange vegetable in the grocery store near my beloved yellow squash and zucchini…spaghetti squash. Being a somewhat cautious cook when it comes to new ingredients, I left my curiosity aside and grabbed my butternut squash for some fall soup, and continued on. Fast forward to present day, and I have thrown my culinary caution to the wind; curiosity got the best of me, and I purchased a spaghetti squash!

Let me assure the masses, if you have not already tried spaghetti squash, do not fear! It is a simple and delicious ingredient that is not only very versatile, but also a wonderful, healthy substitute for the empty carbs of traditional noodles. For the recipe below, I compromised the health of the squash with a bit of fried chicken (frying intimidates me as well…so I conquered all kinds of fears with this recipe!). I truly just threw something together for an inexpensive and delicious meal using ingredients I already had in my home. This squash can be treated exactly like pasta…it has slightly more crunch, but I think you’ll find that giving it a quick toss with whatever sauce you decide to use will help the squash be more tender!

Let’s start with the squash:
Pierce the squash with a sharp knife or kitchen fork. Place on a pan and put into a preheated 375 degree oven for 1 hour. When the squash is finished,  allow it to cool slightly before cutting it lengthwise in half. Scoop out the seeds (just like a pumpkin). Now, using a fork, scrap the inside of the squash lengthwise…this will make spaghetti-like strands that can be used just like pasta!

Take these strands of squash and toss with the following ingredients in a pan over medium heat:

2 cups store bought pasta sauce
1 Tbsp EVOO
2 tsp dried basil
1 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper

Once the sauce has warmed and the squash has been tossed until tender over the stove, add 1/2 cup parmesan and 1/2 cup mozzarella and allow to melt.  Keep over a low heat until ready to serve! (Easy, right?)

Easy Fried Chicken

1/2 chicken breast cut into small pieces
2 cups flower (divided)
1 egg
pinch salt
1/2 cup grated parmesan
1 Tbsp Italian seasoning blend
3/4 cup EVOO

This fried chicken is simple. You’ll need three bowls and a plate. Put one cup flower in a bowl, beat the egg and put it in another bowl, and in the last bowl combine the last cup of flower, parmesan, and seasonings. Start by covering the chicken on both sides with flower, dip in the egg, and cover with the flower/parmesan blend. Place completed chicken on a plate and allow to rest. You’ll want your chicken to rest for at least 10 minutes. Head oil (I used EVOO, but you can use vegetable oil) over a medium heat. When you flick a bit of water in the oil and it sizzles, you’re ready to fry! (You do not, however, want your oil to smoke. Make sure that you keep the heat low enough that the oil does not smoke.) Place the rested pieces of chicken in the oil and allow to cook until golden brown on both sides. Remove from the oil and place on a new plate with paper towels to absorb the excess oil.

Top the spaghetti squash with your fried chicken and enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Fall Favortes, Quick & Easy, Seasonal Cooking, Small Kitchen Cooking

2 responses to “Spaghetti Squash made Simple!

  1. ooooh sydney! this looks really good girl. I have been trying to find a good recipe for this squash. Will be trying this
    rach

  2. Charlie Duncan

    um this looks amazing….

Leave a comment