Stuffed Delicata Squash

As I am sure you have noticed, we are very into fall recipes at Thrifty Foodie right now.  Fall is my absolute favorite season! I love seeing the leaves change, drinking a pumpkin spice latte, and pulling out all of my scarves and sweaters.  One of the foods that I love to cook the most during the fall is squash.  I tried this recipe for the first time, and thought I would share it here.  You could use pretty much any squash for this recipe, as long as it has space to be stuffed. Butternut, acorn…basically anything. Delicata is just what I had on hand. This recipe made me feel fancy (stuffed things!).  I hope you enjoy!

Stuffed Delicata Squash

  • 1 large delicata squash, halved lengthwise and seeded
  • 2 tablespoons butter, divided
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup uncooked couscous (cooked according to package directions. I use chicken or veggie broth instead of water. Much more flavor! Quinoa would also work here.)
  • 2 shallots, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/3 cup pine nuts
  • 1 zuchini, sliced
  • salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

Arrange the squash halves cut side up in a baking dish. Fill dish with about 1/4 inch of water. Place 1 tablespoon butter on each half, and season halves with salt and pepper. Cover dish, and bake squash 30 minutes in the preheated oven, or until very tender.

Cook couscous according to directions on the package.  They all seem a little different, so make sure you read them (not that this has backfired on me before or anything.)

Heat some olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Stir in shallots, zucchini, and garlic, and cook until tender. Stir in pine nuts, and cook until golden. Gently mix into the pot with the cooked couscous. Add salt and pepper to taste.

When the squash is done, remove from the oven and fill with the couscous mixture. Return to the oven for an additional 5 minutes. Serve on top of the left over couscous mixture. Be impressed with how fancy you are.

I know this recipe has quite a few steps, but it will also make you feel very good about yourself, so maybe that makes up for it? yes.

Happy Fall, y’all.

Rachel

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner, Fall Favortes, Seasonal Cooking, Small Kitchen Cooking

Leave a comment